When Some Day Comes A Knockin!

Im not even sure where to begin today. Its cloudy, damp and grey and that pretty much sums up everything. There is a beautiful shiny silver lining coming its just not here yet today but when it gets here I know I will enjoy it. Im not really sure where I went wrong in the last two days but after a week of rain two days of sunshine was supposed to be far more enjoyable than they were. I got some stuff accomplished which needed to be done. The list of need to be done stuff and chores only seems to grow longer while the list of things I want to get done seems to stay the same getting shoved further back on the burners. Its ok. Some day I will get the root cellar dug AND get the scaping around it done so I have a pretty lil kitchen garden to look at while I do dishes. Some day I will put the new counter top in even if it is just another piece of sanded and stained plywood so that when I look at the someday kitchen garden while doing dishes the water isnt leakin under the sink making more mold. Some day I will get a new sieve dug(the current one I hand dug four years ago is full I guess) so I dont have to use the plunger in the sinks when Im done doing them dishes. Some day I will get the new cupboards in so I have neat clean places to put them dishes when they are done too. Oh and some day I will have lights in the kitchen ceiling above that sink so I can do dishes any time of day or night I want instead of just in the mornin when the sun shines in so I can see to do them.  Some day I will get all the beams polished and coated with a mix of half urethane and half thinner to make the dust slide off them instead of hanging in long disgusting webs when I put off housework too long because I’m still workin on that list of need ta get done stuff. Some day I will get that corner stone on the hearth repaired so when I forget to and step on it I dont go arse over teakettle as it falls off to the floor. Someday the ceiling and walls will get patched and painted white again so they look nice.  Some day I will get that second floor put down in the living room so its all shiny and smooth probably I will get the kitchen floor sanded and refinished too that day.  Some day I will get the 30 and 40 yr old recliners in that living room reupholstered and recushioned so they look pretty against that new floor too.I could work on today as its starting to rain but I NEED to sew a new leg on my work jeans instead.  Some day I will dig up the foundation of the bath house so I can fix the busted trap. If I cant reach it that way then I will rip up the bathroom floor to fix it and then some day I wont have to stop up the sink and tub with water in them to prevent the noxious fumes from making me sick and embarrassing me when the once in a blue moon guest arrives. Some day I will get the shade house up so I can sit under it and watch my barnyard comfortably on them hot summer days.  Some day I will get the wood shed on so I have someplace to store wood and I wont have to dump out the smoke room and brooder box to store it making more work. Some  day I will have the green house porch on so I can sit in the sunshine in the morning with my computer and coffee and gaze on the barnyard in warmth instead of being stuck in the wood shed sittin on top of a lil heater cause its the very last spot in my world to get a bit of sun making it cold even in June and unbearable in winter. Some day my plant starts will keep me company in that closed in porch.  Some day I will have real windows instead of antiquated ones held together with duct tape with styrofoam and cardboard for window panes. Someday I will have every animal pen done all neat n tidy and they wont leak or be lopsided. Someday I will have that sign above the drive like them big ranches have that mom always wanted with the name of my lil farm on it and the drive will be lined with trees and beautiful flowering shrubs. Some day I will have a paddock with fences sturdy enough to stand on so if some lil niece or nephew wants to stand up and pet a cow or any other critter I might someday have they can.  Someday I will see my moms blueberry hill she loving called “the hill” like it was her best friends name, cleared again and smooth as carpet like we had it before my car accident. I did the math. It only took her and I twenty years from start to finnish to get it that way the first time. I still got time. Someday my barn will be a real barn with sturdy beams, hay in the loft, and doors that swing open on real hinges instead of propped up boards or pieces of rabbit wire. For now I whisper promises of palaces to the animals and thank them for letting me sooth my tired sore hands on their soft coats after a day of need to get done work. Someday the outhouse shed will be fixed up and no longer in danger of fallin down. It is such an iconic part of this place I never want to see it go or be in disrepair. Soon its tarped up wall is surely to get onto the need to list and I will get the windows set and the wall boarded up.  Someday I will get a clematis to grow again here like the one mom had that Greg took picutres of and framed for her.  Some day I will have a real shit fork to muck the stalls with instead of a twenty year old snow shovel with a broken handle. Yup when some day comes I will have a cart to put that muck in too and I wont need to get in that rope attached to the deer sled so I can haul it to the gardens by hand.  Some day I will get to sealin them rocks in the basement with cement so the sand stops comin through and I can paint it out all nice and white to better see them dam spiders before they ambush me! Some day I will fix the bulkhead door so it doesnt blast cold air in winter and leak rain in summer. Probably on that same some day I will fix that inner bulkhead door so the frame stops swingin in if ya make a mistake and grab it to get up the stairs causing you to fall on your arse and I will put a nice tight door on it too with windows in it to let some light in so the basement isnt dank and scary. Some day I will get the lil cemetary stones all washed at the same time and I will get that fence around it.  Some day I will get to fixin the flower beds Ive tried to start and I will have perennials again like mom and I used to have both here and at her other home. Nice gardens I can watch change with the seasons attracting butterflies, birds, n bees. Some day I might even be able to sit again with my coffee in my jammies at a lil table with a good book as I wait for the flowers to grow. There is nothing like knowing exactly where that beautiful flower was last year and watching it break through the ground in spring then talking to it and nurturing it as you excitedly wait for it to grow and bloom! Some day I will have trilliums again and they will be in the shade of the trees at the river growing under the someday pole fence that will line the bank. And some day the paths along the river will be all cleared and easy to walk on past the some day outhouse to the end of the property line with neat lil spaces cleared for fishin along the way. Some day the slash road will be done and I will have a tractor or something, anything, besides my own broken legs to travel upon it to get the chores done and go to the garden and river. Some day is a beautiful day. I can’t wait for it to get here! Im not just waitin for Some Day to get here though. Im pickin away every day at the list of need to get done stuff. Eventually it will dwindle bringing some day closer.For now I just keep puttin one foot in front of the other and some day I wont have to look down and convince them feet to keep goin one step at a time. One day they will be light as air in boots with real soles and I will be looking around and pointin out all the wonderful things like a giddy child with a new toy. I may be old and grey by the time Some Day gets here but when it does arrive I will have lots to show it and a cold glass of home brewed tea waitin to share with it. Wink!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment